I have to thank my friendly local ‘mediateca’ for helping me to plug some serious gaps in my ‘cult’ movie knowledge.  I finally got to see  ‘The Crow’ over the Christmas break and am at a loss to explain how I’ve come to miss it since it came out 15 years ago.

I think I erroneously labelled it as a juvenile horror flick that achieved notoriety only because of the tragic on set death of its star,  Brandon Lee.

What prevents it from being just a Gothic ‘Death Wish’ is in the casting of the then  13 year old Rochelle Davis as Sarah, a streetwise, skater girl. She helps give the movie a moral centre and I was intrigued to find out what happened to her after.

It turns out that her life has had more downs than ups. She has never acted since but her life has had more than  its fair share of drama.

Rochelle (real name Andrea- ‘Drea’ – Hunsberger) married in 2000 and had a son, Desi, three years later. The marriage was fine for a while but then she was a victim of domestic violence and she wisely did a runner.  In  her own words (from her My Space blog): “I decided to leave my marriage, and – as a complete novice at being on my own – got myself into the company of some bad characters”.

This is putting it mildly!   The ‘bad characters’ were part of the “Sex, Money, Murder” gang who were running a drug house. This is especially ironic given that her mother in ‘The Crow’ was a drug addict who kept some pretty bad company.

In 2007, Rochelle was arrested along with other members of the gang on drugs and weapons charges  and subsequently served 4 months in jail.

Rochelle now

Rochelle now

In February 2008 she wrote that she had “just married the man of my dreams”  but less than seven months on she reported that   “my husband left me after basically cheating on me”.

In a recent public appearance at Scream Fest in Orlando she shows that she wants to overcome this latest set back.

After all she’s been through I hope she turns her life around in 2009. As the tag line of ‘The Crow’ (and her blog) says : ‘It can’t rain all the time’.

