In week 3 of the E-Learning & Digital Cultures MOOC .  students have been invited to create an image that represents any one of the themes encountered in the course so far.

I’m not entirely sure if cropping my Flickr photos counts as being sufficiently creative but I’ve been going through my past shots of graffiti and street art looking picture that fit this category.

My favourite is this one I took in a side street in Ravenna, Italy which I think serves to counter balance the dystopian notion that machines are taking over our world.

if robots are invested with human characteristics, perhaps they can feel lonely too.

This yellow bot certainly looks isolated and in need of love.

Perhaps the true fear we should address is not  that machines are becoming too powerful but that human beings are too distrustful of the idea that technology can be a force for good.

