Had she not been struck down by lupus at the woefully early age of 39, Flannery O’Connor would be celebrating her 88th birthday today.

Wise Blood is one of my all time favourite novels and I read it thinking it was a religious satire so was shocked to find that O’Connor lived and died a devout Catholic.

She was, by all accounts, a real eccentric and her skewed view of religion and the world around her comes through in her writing.

Although I am not a Catholic, or a believer for that matter, I can still appreciate the wit and wisdom of her work. I think it’s her compassion for the freaks of the world, of which she was probably one, which I value most.

Her ear for dialogue and compassion for the frailty of human beings also makes her all too slim body of work unique.

On my Bucket List is a literary tour of the USA and one of the stop off points would be her childhood home in Savannah, Georgia. The video tour at least allows me to see what I’m missing from the comfort of my study:

