“It will be I, it will be the silence, where I am, I don’t know, I’ll never know, in the silence you don’t know, you must go on, I can’t go on, I’ll go on”. – Samuel Beckett, The Unnameable (Photo by Brett Wilde).

Another day, another blog post. With the views limping towards three figures each day,

I am resigned to the fact that I will never go viral unless I unwittingly stumble upon some almighty scoop.

This doesn’t worry me especially since I started this as a personal project to write about whatever took my fancy with no desire to make any personal confessions.

What was once a vice is now a habit.

It has become the principle of the thing to post something every day.

This dogged perseverance (stubbornness) has meant that I have not missed a day since 1st January 2011.

Sometimes, though, I feel like the unnamed narrator of Beckett’s 1953  novel (“I’ll go on”) and I also gain a perverse strength from the same writer who, in his novella Worstward Ho!,  wrote: “All of old. Nothing else ever. Ever tried. Ever failed. No matter. Try again. Fail again. Fail better”.

There’s a bleakness in these words, but a spirit of resilience too; and a truth.

