So what are we going to watch now Breaking Bad has finished?

I came late to Breaking Bad but, curious to find out what all the fuss was about, I invested in the DVD set for season one.

Like many before me, I soon got hooked.

I found myself obsessively watching all 62 episodes of the five seasons in less than a month.

Now it’s all over I feel exhausted but satisfied at how it all turned out.

What an amazing achievement this show is – easily the best TV drama I’ve seen since The Wire.

There were so many great characters including the smooth but deadly Gus (Giancarlo Esposito), Mike (Jonathan Banks) the henchman with “dead mackerel eyes”, the sexy but sinister Lydia (Laura Fraser)  dumb but dogged Hank (Dean Norris), the loveable underdog Jessie (Aaaron Paul)  and the smart talking, ethically challenged Saul Goodman (Bob Odenkirk) who puts the criminal into the job title ‘criminal lawyer’.

Vince Gilligan

At the end of Season 4, I thought ‘that’s it – they should end it here’ but with hindsight I realise that this would have left us with too many loose ends.

The final season ties these up with the precision and panache we came to expect from creator Vince Gilligan and his team. Gilligan says that he wanted Walter White aka Heisenberg to start out as Mr Chips and to end up as Scarface.

All along he says he began cooking meth to provide for his family after he dies, but ultimately admits the truth behind his actions“”Everything I did; I did it for me. I liked it. I was good at it. And I was really… I was alive”.

Despite his increasingly reckless and ruthless behaviour we can never bring ourselves to entirely hate him. As Bryan Cranston, the actor who played White, observes:   “Tragedy is not a bunch of bad guys doing bad things: Tragedy is when the bad guys are sympathized, when you realize that it could have gone another way,”

