1. WRITING IS THERAPEUTIC.

Blogging has a healing power. I find writing down my thoughts and ideas , even when not fully formed, is cathartic and makes me feel calmer, more balanced and less alone.

2. DAILY BLOGGING IS NOT FOR WIMPS.

I wrote a post every single day from 1st January 2011  to 30th September 2013. It takes willpower or just plain bloody mindedness to persevere. I feel quite smug that I kept going for so long but I  finally waved the white flag when I was taking a week long break and had nothing scheduled.  Now I try to post something as regularly as I can secure in the knowledge that I have conquered the wimp within.

Tis-Better-to-be-brief3. BREVITY IS BEST.

Enough said?
Remember the words of the Psycho Killer in the Talking Heads song : “Say something once, why say it again?”

4. IMAGES ARE NICE.  

It’s not necessarily true that every picture tells a story but every story sure looks prettier with a picture.

5. NECESSITY IS THE MOTHER OF INVENTION.

Having a deadline or target helps concentrate the mind and lures the muse out of her wormhole.

6. WHAT WERE ONCE BLOG POSTS ARE NOW TWEETS.

I confess I have tweeted when once I would have blogged. This is a real temptation when you can say what you want to say in 140 characters or less.

7. THE BLOGOSPHERE  IS WISE.

For the most part blogs offer a personalized  view of the world that conventional media outlets can only emulate. Reading and following other blogs is something I have too often neglected in the past.

8. OTHER BLOGGERS SEEM TO HAVE MORE INTERESTING LIVES THAN MINE.

The grass is always greener of course but all too often it seems that other bloggers are living the dream while I am stuck in my room staring at a screen trying to think of what to write about.

9. I HAVE DEVELOPED A STRONG AVERSION TO LISTS

….and this post isn’t helping at all!

10. I CAN’T GO ON, I’LL GO ON.

The closing line from Samuel Beckett’s The Unnamable sums up a recurring thought about blogging,

