world cafeI had my last meal at the World Food Cafe in Neal’s Yard, London on Wednesday 20th July, three days later the restaurant closed for good.

Nothing to do with my visit, I’m pleased to say.

The founders Chris and Carolyn Caldicott decided to call it a day after 20 years in the heart of Covent Garden. The couple are still young at heart and  plan to go travelling, initially in Mexico, Cuba and Patagonia to gather more vegetarian recipes from around the globe. They want to add to the two collections of popular dishes which  they have already published.

For me this seems like the end of an era. I was a regular customer when I lived in London and hope that Neal’s Yard continues to be a veggie haven now they’ve departed.  It would be a shame for this unique part of the City was given over to yet more designer clothes stores.

I will miss the light, airy eating space and hearty lunches served up from an open plan cooking space. Apparently, you will be able to follow Chris and Carolyn’s adventures on Facebook.  I wish them well